Top 8 Most Popular K-pop Boy Groups With 9 Members

EXO, Super Junior, and Pentagon in one collage

So are you looking into K-pop Boy Groups with 9 members? Fret not, our dear friend, for we have just the list for you.

K-pop bands are famous for having numerous members within a single group. The group known to have the most members so far is NCT.

NCT currently consists of a whopping 23 members broken down into several sub-units.

K-pop entertainment agencies are not shy of debuting a group with more than ten members.

As a result, that fact separates them from western companies that almost always limit their Boy and Girl groups to five members.

This article will go through a list of K-pop Boy Groups with nine members. It will contain both active and inactive groups and groups that did not initially have nine members.

So, without further ado, let’s hop onto the list!

Here are the Top 8 K-POP Boy groups with 9 members

1. EXO

K-pop Boy Groups With 9 Members EXO

Current Members: Suho, Xiumin, Lay, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai, and Sehun

Years Active: 2012 – present

Hailing from SM Entertainment is K-pop group EXO. The band was formed in 2011 and eventually debuted in 2012.

EXO is undoubtedly one of the most successful K-pop boy groups with 9 members. They have received numerous accolades, including multiple daesangs and music show wins to their names.

Initially, there were twelve members in the group. That is until Kris, Luhan, and Tao left the group one by one.

The reason was reportedly due to alleged mistreatment from the company that soon resulted in legal battles between both parties.

Despite all the drama, the group continued releasing music within comeback after comeback. A few of their more notable songs are “GROWL,” “Love Shot,” and “Ko Ko Bop.”

2. Super Junior

K-pop Boy Groups With 9 Members Super Junior

Current Members: Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Eunhyuk, Siwon, Donghae, Ryeowook and Kyuhyun

Years Active: 2005 – present

Also from SM Entertainment, the K-pop group Super Junior is one of the industry’s longest-running active boy bands. They debuted in 2005 and represented the legendary groups of the second generation of K-pop.

Hence, long-time K-pop fans regard them as the Kings of “Hallyu” or “Korean Wave.”

This high praise is due to the group’s active participation in spreading K-pop to the world in the early days when it wasn’t as popular compared to the present.

Super Junior originally had twelve members on its roster after its debut. Then the number grew to thirteen when Kyuhyun joined the group in 2006.

Over the years, three members left due to various reasons like legal issues and contract expiration. Meanwhile, Sungmin is still on hiatus, leaving nine current members.

3. Pentagon

K-pop Boy Groups With 9 Members Pentagon

Current Members: Hui, Jinho, Hongseok, Shinwon, Yanan, Yeo One, Yuto, Kino, and Wooseok

Years Active: 2016 – present

PENTAGON is a K-pop boy band that debuted in 2016 under the Korean label CUBE Entertainment.

CUBE first revealed Pentagon to the world through the survival show “Pentagon Maker.”

Upon debut, there were ten members in the group, including E’dawn. He left the group and the company in November 2018, following a dating scandal between him and his label mate Hyuna.

Despite this, the group continued releasing music as a nine-membered lineup. They released their tenth Mini Album titled “We:th” in 2020.

The release was significant in the group’s history as they garnered their first-ever music show win after four years with the title track “Daisy.”

4. SF9

K-pop boy group SF9

Current Members: Youngbin, Inseong, Jaeyoon, Dawon, Zuho, Rowoon, Yoo Taeyang, Hwiyoung, and Chani

Years Active: 2016 – present

Sensational Feeling 9, most known as SF9, is a K-pop boy band formed under FNC Entertainment’s label.

They debuted with the single album Feeling Sensation that had the lead single “Fanfare.” They had a rocky start to their careers but continued to release new songs.

In January 2020, their hard work paid off when they won their first-ever music show after releasing “Good Guy” from their first full album called First Collection.

The group got their second win a day after on Music Bank. SF9’s four years of perseverance and hard work have finally paid off.


K-pop boy group CRAVITY

Current Members: Serim, Allen, Jungmo, Woobin, Wonjin, Minhee, Hyeongjun, Taeyoung and Seongmin

Years Active: 2020 – present

CRAVITY is a nine-membered K-pop boy band that debuted under Starship Entertainment.

The name of the group is the combination of the words “Creativity” and “Gravity,” which represents their aim to “bring you into their universe with a unique charm.”

It can also stand for “Center of Gravity,” a term in Physics that means a point in an object at which weight is evenly distributed.

They debuted on April 14, 2020, with their mini-album Season 1. Hideout: Remember Who We Are.

The group quickly took the scene by storm, winning the “New Artist Award” at the 2020 Soribada Best K-Music Awards marking it as their first-ever trophy after debuting.


K-pop boy group D-Crunch

Current Members: O.V, Hyunwook, Hyunho, Hyunoh, Hyunwoo, Minhyuk, Chanyoung, Dylan and Jeongseung

Years Active: 2018 – present

D-CRUNCH is a K-pop boy group that All-S Company initially formed in 2018.

But since February of 2020, the group has been officially signed under Ai Grand Korea after they terminated their contract with their former company.

D-CRUNCH’s name stands for “Diamond-Crunch,” which signifies their “capability of breaking diamond with their strong performance and powerful musicality.”

Their fandom name is called “DIANA,” which combined the words “dia” (another name for a diamond in Korean) and “na” (which means “me.”)

“DIANA” are the fans that shine brightly for all the members of D-CRUNCH.

Important to note about this group is that within just four months after debuting, the 2018 Asia Artist Awards recognized the group with the “Focus Award.”


K-pop boy group NOIR

Current Members: Seunghoon, Yeonkuk, Junyong, Yunsung, Siheon, Hoyeon, Siha, Minhyuk, and Daewon

Years Active: 2018 – present

Debuting under the Korean entertainment label Luk Factory is the boy band NOIR.

They debuted on April 9, 2018, when they released their mini-album Twenty’s Noir. After that, they also released their first official music video for their song “Gangsta.”

So far, the group hasn’t gotten that much traction from the public.

Only releasing four extended plays as of yet, with only an average of a thousand recorded sales for each, there’s still a long way to go for the group.

You can check out their official music videos on YouTube for their songs, “As A Star,” “Gangsta,” “Airplane Mode,” “Doom Doom,” and “Lucifer.”

8. UNB

K-pop Boy Groups With 9 Members UNB

Current Members: Feeldog, Euijin, Daewon, Marco, Hojung, Hansol, Jun, Chan, and Kijoong

Years Active: 2018 – 2019

The K-pop group UNB was under the Entertainment label called “The Unit Culture Industry Company.”

A survival reality show called “The Unit” formed the group UNB.

The group name is an acronym of “You & Unit B,” commonly known in the past as “UNI+B.” They debuted on April 7, 2018, after releasing their first-ever mini-album entitled “Boyhood.”

However, after their Japanese concert, the group announced its disbandment on January 27. 2019, less than one year after the group’s debut.

Those were the Top 8 Nine membered K-pop boy groups. Tell us in the comments below who you think we missed on this list.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.